​Environmental Finance Centers

The GLEIC is one of ten EPA environmental finance centers (EFCs) located throughout the United States. Each EFC carries out the central mission to deliver targeted technical assistance to, and partner with states, tribes, local governments, and the private sector in providing innovative solutions to help manage the costs of environmental financing and program management. However, each center is also allowed to pursue the best way to meet the unique needs of their region. The individuality of each center increases the ability of the centers to meet regional needs better and allows for a more diverse set of centers that—together—have a more extensive knowledge base.

To learn more about the other EFCs, visit their websites at

Environmental Finance Center Network

The EFCs also work together to maintain the Environmental Finance Center Network (EFCN), which has more resources for financing, maintaining, and managing environmental systems. To learn more about the EFCN and its resources, visit

​EPA Region 5 Headquarters

Learn more about EPA Region 5 at

​Additional Resources

American Public Works Association:

American Water Works Association (AWWA):

Association of State Drinking Water Administrators:

Building TMF Capacity for Small Water Systems Project

Learn more about Building TMF Capacity for Small Water Systems Project at

Environmental Defense Fund:

Environmental Finance Center Network:

Government Finance Officers Association:

Lead Service Line Replacement Collaborative:

National Association of Clean Water Agencies:

National Association of Sewer Companies:

National Association of Water Companies:

National Rural Water Association:

Rural Water Assistance Program:

Small Community Water Infrastructure Exchange:

Smart Management for Small Water Systems

USDA Rural Development

Water Infrastructure & Resiliency Finance Center-US EPA

Water Environment Federation (WEF):

Water Operator Blog – Resources